Waimangu Volcanic Valley

In 1886, Mount Tarawera in Rotorua erupted, and destroyed the surrounding area. The eruption opened the earth along a 17km rift, splitting Mount Tarawera in two, exploding Lake Rotomahana to 20 times its original size, and forming the seven craters that today make up the Waimangu Volcanic Valley. Within 15 years of the Eruption, the hot springs of the Waimangu Geothermal System were established within the newly formed craters, making this the world's newest geothermal eco-system. Plant life returned to the devastated land 30 years after the 1886 eruption. Today Waimangu Volcanic Valley and Lake Rotomahana are wholly protected as a Scenic Reserve and Wildlife Refuge. Here you can enjoy a range of easy walking to advanced hiking. They also have a boat cruise on Lake Rotomahana which can be added to the experience.